Australian Society of Horticultural Science (AuSHS) was established in 1990 as a professional society for the promotion and enhancement of Australian horticultural science and industry. Our members represent a cross-section of professionals from research institutions, universities, industry, private citizens and students.

Company details

Business Type:
Research institute
Industry Type:
Agriculture - Horticulture
Market Focus:
Internationally (various countries)

To professionally promote and enhance Australian science and the horticultural industry.

We will achieve our mission through the following objectives:

  • to encourage the scientific and scholarly study of horticulture
  • to advance the introduction of scientific principles and practices into horticulture
  • to promote the profession of Horticultural Science
  • to introduce and implement codes of management and ethics for the profession
  • to provide scientific and technical advice to government and industry organisations
  • to foster communication with the International Society for Horticultural Science and other kindred societies both national and international.

The first proposals to establish a national society for horticulture received support at the Temperate Tree Fruits Conference at Roseworthy, South Australia in May, 1988 and again at the Vegetable Research Conference at Hawkesbury, New South Wales in July, 1988. A year later, a section of horticulturists from within the Australian Institute for Agricultural Science, in conjunction with the Australian Society of Plant Physiology, held a symposium in Brisbane, Queensland to promote the formation of a horticultural society. Largely due to the enthusiasm and leadership of Dr John Possingham, then of CSIRO, and a positive response from surveys of prospective members, a national steering Committee was established in early 1990. Under the chairmanship of Mr Jeff Peterson, and following several meetings of the steering Committee, a symposium was convened in September, 1990. At this symposium, a motion to form a Society, moved by Dr Barry McGlasson from the University of Western Sydney, Hawkesbury, was carried on voices. A Management Committee was elected, and under the chairmanship of the first President, Dr Bill Greenhalgh, the Australian Society of Horticultural science held its first meeting that very evening.