Nitrogen fixation conference


Registrations are now open for the 17th Australian Nitrogen Fixation Conference which will be held in South Australia from September 28 to October 2 this year. The conference will bring together Australian and international delegates with an interest in biological nitrogen (N) fixation. Co-hosted by the Australian Society for Nitrogen Fixation, the University of Adelaide and the SA Research and Development Institute and sponsored by the Grains Research and Development Corporation (GRDC), the AW Howard Memorial Trust, the SA Grain Industry Trust, BASF Agricultural Specialties and Novozymes Biologicals Australia, the conference will be based at the Plant Research Centre at the Waite Precinct, Urrbrae, and will include a field tour to the Mid North of SA.

Keynote speakers include Professor Barbara Reinhold-Hurek, Head of the Department of Microbe-Plant Interactions at the University of Bremen, Germany; Dr Euan James, from The James Hutton Institute, Dundee, Scotland; and Dr Michael Russelle from the United States Dairy Forage Research Centre. The theme of the event is “N2 fixation: reaping the benefits of basic and applied research”, and the topics of targeted sessions will include the diversity and ecology of N-fixing organisms; molecular genetics and mechanisms of N fixation; N-fixing symbioses; N fixation in terrestrial systems; and increasing fixed N in farming systems.

To register or for further information, visit

Customer comments

No comments were found for Nitrogen fixation conference. Be the first to comment!