United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)

UN to Outline Global Emissions Cuts Roadmap to Ward Off Worst Climate Impacts Ahead of Crucial Negotiations

0
As nations prepare to gather in Lima, Peru, for the latest round of negotiations in agreeing a new climate treaty, the fifth edition of the Emissions Gap Report lays out a roadmap for the cuts required to limit global warming to 2°C in this century.

Press Conference on 19 November 2014, 10:00 a.m. (EST)/15:00 (GMT)

Venue: The National Press Club, 529, 14th Street, NW, 13th Floor, Washington D.C

Who

Achim Steiner, UN Under-Secretary-General and UNEP Executive Director

Andrew Steer, President and CEO, World Resources Institute

Joseph Alcamo, Chief Scientific Editor

What

Total greenhouse gas emissions must start falling in the next few years and hit net zero by the second half of the century in order to limit global temperature rise and head off the worst impacts of climate change, according to a new United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) report. As nations prepare to gather in Lima, Peru, for the latest round of negotiations in agreeing a new climate treaty, the fifth edition of the Emissions Gap Report lays out a roadmap for the cuts required to limit global warming to 2°C in this century.

Other Press Launches

Mexico City, Mexico

Date: 19 November 2014

Time: 09:30 (CST)/15:30 (GMT)

Contact: Alejandro Laguna, Tel.: +507 305 3100 or Email: alex.laguna@unep.org

Brussels, Belgium

Date: 19 November 2014

Time: 13:30 pm (CET)/12:30 (GMT)

Contact: Alexa Froger, Tel.: +32 2 213 30 59 or Email: alexa.froger@unep.org

Berlin, Germany

Date: 20 November 2014

Time: 11:30 am (CET)/10:30 (GMT)

Contact: Waiganjo Njoroge, Tel.: +254 723 857 270 or Email: Waiganjo.njoroge@unep.org

New Delhi, India

Date: 21 November 2014

Time: 11:00 am (IST)/05:30 (GMT)

Contact: Satwant Kaur, Tel.: +662 288 2127 or Email: satwant.kaur@unep.org

Customer comments

No comments were found for UN to Outline Global Emissions Cuts Roadmap to Ward Off Worst Climate Impacts Ahead of Crucial Negotiations. Be the first to comment!