INRA - French National Institute of Agronomical Research

Winners of the 2014 INRA Awards


Five laureates were honoured at the 9th INRA Awards Ceremony for their commitment and findings in such diverse fields as relations between plants and environment, the role of soil microorganisms in the flows of atmospheric carbon or innovative aquaculture. The ceremony took place on 5 November 2014, in the presence of Stéphane Le Foll, Minister of Agriculture, Food, and Forestry, and Geneviève Fioraso, Secretary of State to Higher Education and Research, under the patronage of Najat Vallaud-Belkacem, Minister of National Education, Higher Education and Research.

The INRA Awards honour researchers who have demonstrated creativity, talent and commitment day in and day out, earning the Institute’s great pride. In addition to recognizing them, the awards ceremony pays tribute to the wide breadth of projects and professions in the field of research, especially public agricultural research. The Agricultural Research Award for Scientific Excellence and the Young Researcher Award are attributed by an international jury chaired by Frédéric Dardel, President of Université Paris 5 – Descartes.

  • The Agricultural Research Award for Scientific Excellence is attributed to a researcher who has contributed greatly to the prestige of agronomic research. It was given by Stéphane Le Foll, Minister of Agriculture, Food, and Forestry.
    François Tardieu, research director at the Joint Research Unit for Ecophysiology of Plants under Environmental Stress (INRA Montpellier) is the recipient of the 2014 Agricultural Research Award for Scientific Excellence. He has mobilized his skills in eco-physiology and genomics, and tapped into the most recent methods of phenotyping and modelling to analyse and forecast the behaviour of plants subject to climatic stress. His work can be applied to both agriculture and plant selection.
  • The Young Researcher Award rewards a research scientist recently hired. It was presented by Geneviève Fioraso, Secretary of State to Higher Education and Research.
    This award goes to Lisa Wingate, research scientist at the Atmosphere Plant Soil Interactions Research Unit (ISPA). Tapping into an international network, she combines observation, experimentation and modelling to understand and quantify carbon and water flows and output in forest canopies subject to climate change.
  • The recipient of the Engineer Award has contributed remarkably to methodological development, the promotion of scientific advances, as an intermediary between diverse professions. It was given by Frédéric Dardel, President of University Paris 5 – Descartes.
    The 2014 recipient, Laurent Labbé, director of the Experimental Fish Farm of the Monts d’Arée (INRA Rennes), testifies to INRA’s capacity to innovate. Together with colleagues in experimental fish farming in Monts d’Arrée and researchers in Ile-de-France and Aquitaine, he develops and promotes fish breeding in populations that consume less fresh water and animal protein, thus boosting sustainability in the French aquaculture industry.
  • Two Research Support Awards are attributed to two research technicians whose contribution is significant and specific to experimental activities as well as to training and transfer.
    Séverine Siblot, formerly a technician in a research unit, now plays a key role in coordinating the presidency in INRA’s Dijon research centre. It was given by Claude Ronceray, INRA Deputy Director General for Research Support Services. Originally trained in animal sciences, Jean-Marie Trommenschlager works at the Agrosystems, Territories, Resources Research Unit – Mirecourt (INRA Nancy). He has created information technology tools that have since been adopted outside of INRA. This award was presented by Olivier Le Gall, INRA Deputy Director General for Scientific Affairs.

Customer comments

No comments were found for Winners of the 2014 INRA Awards. Be the first to comment!